Following a breach in the platforms security system in October last year, it may come as no surprise that Google+ is shutting down. The scandal, in which 500,000 accounts were comprised under data protection laws caused a stir in the networks user group.
Google have announced that the social networking site will be shut down due to challenges faced in maintaining and continuing the service. The company clarified that content will not be deleted from the platform but instead, users will be given the option to download their images and videos prior to April 2nd.
From today, the network will stop accepting new content as Google prepares for the change. Users who have been using their account to log in to other platforms won’t be able to do so, as access is due to be replaced with a Google sign-in button.
Speaking of platform security, Google said:
“We understand that our ability to build reliable products that protect your data drives user trust […] We have always taken this seriously, and we continue to invest in our privacy programs to refine internal privacy review processes, create powerful data controls, and engage with users, researchers, and policymakers to get their feedback and improve our programs.”
If you have an active Google+ account, you can download your data here ahead of the sites closure later this year.